About Me

I’m still cool.

Have you ever experienced a moment where you couldn’t possibly feel less cool? This happens to me daily, but every once in a while it hits me hard. Mine came in the form of a Shabbos Robe. Those of you who don’t know what Shabbos is, let alone a Shabbos ROBE, let me explain. Shabbat/Shabbos is the Jewish holy day of rest. We spend time with family, have three big meals, and genuinely revel in Grace. We also nap. And when you have a little baby, you sit around in your house. People buy special robes for the day that are fancier than your average house robe, complete with bangles, sequins, velour, feathers, jewels, etc. I’m not into that kinda Shabbos Robe. I’m into comfort. After all, no one is going to see it anyways, right? So I bought a winter Shabbos Robe and brought it home. Imagine the largest, thickest, hooded sweatshirt you own. Now make that into a floor length house coat. It was brown, with a crazy neon decal on the front (I’d like to meet the designers of these. Seriously?). I wore it around the house, and made an off-hand comment to my husband that I was starting to get a little hot.

“Well,” he said.

“You are wearing a Russian Winter Coat.”

I was hurt. I was upset. How dare he point out that my delicious, comfortable pajamas that I planned on wearing on a daily basis and replacing my real clothes with was, well, ugly/over sized/and thick as a down jacket? I returned it the next day. Not because of what he said. But because it was true.

It is really easy to get stuck in a rut of PJ wearing. And only talking about your baby. And never wearing make up, or buying new clothes, or listening to some fantastic hip-hop jams. But eventually it piles up and you look in the mirror and don’t recognize yourself. I’m not making any vows here. But I’m still cool. That unique, interesting, poet-turned Jewess-turned mother is in there. You might have to dig through a massive Shabbos robe, some fake hair and a burp cloth to find her, but play the right song, and she’ll come out dancing.


(Thanks W.B. for posting this song today. I needed the groove.)

3 thoughts on “I’m still cool.

  1. you are definitely still cool. And it gets easier to get dressed when you have to take your kid somewhere, like playgroup. At least, it got easier for me (though I was still in pajamas nearly all day today. ugh).

    hugs

Leave a Reply

