About Me

Lessons in Learning

With all this talk of going back to work and school, it seems like fate has finally stepped in and forced me out of this comfortable nest I’ve made. Documents pending, I should start intensive Hebrew classes in March. Built on complete immersion, this type of language learning has proven effective for many immigrants, and it happens to be my worst nightmare.

Starting in elementary school, certain classes became difficult for me. Math, science, foreign language. A bright kid, all of a sudden I felt stupid and left behind and overwhelmed. It would take decades and dozens of tutors and teachers to get over the mental block I had for those subjects, and I’m still healing. Being thrown into a learning environment in a subject area I already find difficult and NOT being able to speak English- part of the complete immersion, is going to seriously take me down a notch. In the past I’ve gotten around it by quitting everything that got even the slightest bit challenging. Because then I’d never look stupid. Right?

This week I learned a lesson from my Son. He started sitting up by himself.

I never thought it would happen, but after toppling over time and again, he learned to put his hands out and support himself. Yesterday he even went as far as to reach out and grab a toy while still managing to root his thick, baby trunk. It didn’t matter that every other time he fell on his face. He didn’t mind. Who cares? He’s a baby, he’s never done this before.

What could we accomplish if every effort was like that of a child- no fear, no reservations? It’s not a new idea, but it’s an important one.

5 thoughts on “Lessons in Learning

  1. Nice Katie. Much hatzlacha in ulpan. For whatever it’s worth, there’s a ton of value spiritually in facing the things you’re doing – not doing things that come easily. Your kids will benefit from this, even if they aren’t aware at the moment that you’re doing it. Sooner or later, they’ll figure out how much effort you put in on something hard, and everyone knows that as much as we say we value something, the effort we put in really tells kids what we think is important. That’s what I think.
    Rachel

    1. Thanks Rachel. I was just reading about the importance of modeling for your children (behavior, not fashions!). I would hate for my son to grow up and see that it’s ok to quit just because something is difficult. It’s really a challenge for me and one middah that I hope to continue to improve on for the rest of my life.

Leave a Reply

