Breakfast · Cooking · Main Dish

Goat Cheese Tart with Caramelized Red Onion and Potato

One of my great joys in life is having guests. I like to set out little shampoos and clean towels, realizing that I should have opened a B&B instead of a Blog. I want people to feel comfortable, well fed and happy when they stay with us. So I was delighted to have my best friend from College come crash along with a friend for a few days.

This was their first trip to Israel and now they are off traveling the country and beyond like brave girls do.

Selfishly, I enjoyed their company not only because I was performing the mitzvah of Hachnosas Orchim (hospitality), but because it felt so good to have an old-fashioned, stay up late, heart-to-heart with some strong women. There is nothing in this world like a great girlfriend, and I’m proud to call a core group of ladies my best friends. And they made my Baby giggle.

And who doesn’t love that?

I made this Tart for dinner and paired it with a salad. It was not enough food for four people and I was embarrassed so I stuffed them with Ice cream cake. I think they will forgive me. I really should have entitled this post “Fancy Diner Food in a Tart Shell” because that’s what it is, and why it’s so perfect. I don’t know about you, but every time I’ve been to a Diner or other Breakfast-24- hours a day establishment, it’s always a big decision: pancakes or eggs and hash browns. I love buttered toast more than anything, and that’s why I always choose the eggs. Because who orders a side of toast with a huge stack of pancakes? I’m also a massive fan of breakfast potatoes and a good over-medium flipped egg.

My parents used to call me Miss Breakfast because I often ate more than one breakfast a day, sometimes at night for dinner. There are not many things more satisfying than that. Maybe washing your hands with fresh smelling soap and hot water. Or sneaking away to read a great book with no one to bother you. A glass of sweet, cold water in the middle of the night. I’m a simple girl. Either way, breakfast for dinner is light and easy and good for entertaining- that is, if you make enough, and not leave your guests hungry. *Gulp*

Goat Cheese Tart with Caramelized Red Onion and Potato
Makes 1 tart, enough for 2 normal adults for dinner, or as a side dish for a group

This could have had more seasoning, so if you like it full-flavored, add some more chopped fresh thyme and fresh rosemary. You can also sprinkle the top with parmesan or sharp flavored, shredded cheese before baking.

Ingredients

1 sheet puff pastry
2 eggs
1/2 cup creamy goat cheese
1/2 cup milk
1 large red onion, thinly sliced
3-4 small, new potatoes, peeled and chopped
1 tbsp margarine or butter
1/2 tsp thyme
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp black pepper
1/4 cup parmesan cheese or sharp flavored shredded cheese (optional)

Using a tart pan with a removable bottom, fit a piece of uncooked puff pastry into the pan. Chill in the refrigerator for 15-30 minutes. Preheat your oven to 350 F (176 C) and place a pan in the bottom third section. Remove the tart crust from the refrigerator and using a piece of aluminum foil, completely cover the crust, pressing the foil to fit the inside. Fill the foil-lined crust with uncooked rice or beans or pie weights. Bake the pie crust for 15 minutes until set but not browned. Remove the crust from the oven, remove the foil and weights, and return to the oven to bake for 5-10 minutes to lightly brown. Poke any bubbles that appear with a fork and don’t allow the crust to rise (Tamp down with a spoon if you need to). Remove the crust to a wire rack to cool. In a small sauce pan, cover the peeled and chopped potatoes with water and over high heat, boil until tender, about 10 minutes. While the potatoes are cooking, melt 1 tbsp margarine in a heavy pan over medium-high heat. Put the sliced red onions into the pan and cook for 10-15 minutes, until starting to brown. Set aside. When the potatoes are tender and cooked, drain them in a colander and add them to the caramelized onions and cook for 2-3 minutes over high heat. In a bowl, combine 2 eggs, milk, creamy goat cheese, thyme and any other herbs you like, salt and pepper, whisking to combine. Spread the onions and potatoes on the bottom of the tart shell. Season the potatoes and onions with additional salt and pepper. Pour the egg mixture over the potatoes, and if you like, sprinkle parmesan or shredded cheese over top. Place in the preheated oven and bake for 20-25 minutes until the tart no longer jiggles and the top is lightly browned. Serve warm or at room temperature.

3 thoughts on “Goat Cheese Tart with Caramelized Red Onion and Potato

  1. That tart looks great, and your slumber party sounds wonderful. I keep forgetting to invite you our sewing klatch, if you’re still interested, please keep bugging me! I’ve been making a similar pashtida, ie., crustless quiche, with goat cheese and Swiss chard for Shabbas breakfast lately, but those onions sound mighty fine.

    1. Thanks Rachel! I’ve been crazy busy with this baby so I haven’t been pondering sewing lately (except for those big holes in my two best skirts!) but I’ll let you know if I find myself with some free time for a ladies group.

  2. Oh, YUM. I hear you on the breakfast. In the town where I went to school, there was a diner which served the “I’m a Starving Man’s Breakfast.” It had two eggs, hash browns, links, bacon, gravy, toast, and (wait for it) pancakes.

    Ahhhhh, I can just hear the arteries being clogged…

Leave a Reply

