Cooking · Desserts · Vegan

I Guess You Can Say it’s Lemon Sorbet

I’m a lemon freak. Always have been. I use lemon scented lotion, get lemon chicken from Chinese take-out, would love nothing more than a lemon curd filled birthday cake, and have, for years, been looking for the lemon sherbet recipe of my dreams.

Sherbet? I thought this was a recipe for Sorbet. What’s the difference? Sorbet is made mainly from sugar and water, and sherbet has a creamy base. Flintstones Push-Ups are of the sherbet variety. Growing up I yearned for the summer picnic when my Mom would pick up a watermelon sherbet cake from Friendly’s Restaurant. Strawberry and lime flavored, it looked like a half-watermelon and had chocolate chips for seeds. A significant portion of my childhood was spent at Friendly’s, and I still think about that cake (and the thousands of grilled cheese sandwiches that my babysitter watched me eat- Thanks Diana! By the way, this is not an exaggeration. I ate nothing but grilled cheese sandwiches and hot dogs for the first 12 years of my life. Still love ’em!)

I’ve been pining for lemon sherbet, but hence, am currently avoiding dairy for the little Baby’s sake. I wondered if a vegan milk substitute would give the creaminess I was searching for. Not so much, but the result was an tart, sweet and incredibly refreshing sorbet that would rival any other frozen dessert. Want to try your hand at a sherbet? Replace the Almond milk with 1/2 cup heavy cream and 1/2 cup milk. Let me know how fantastic it is, and I’ll live vicariously through you.


Accidental Lemon Sorbet
Adapted from the Joy of Baking

Ingredients

1/2 cup (120 mL) freshly squeezed lemon juice (About 2-3 lemons)
Zest of 1 large lemon
1 cup Vanilla Almond milk (or Soy milk for a creamier version)
1/2 cup sugar

Directions

Squeeze the juice of 2-3 lemons. With a small-hole grater, zest one of the lemons. If you have an ice cream maker, combine all of the ingredients in a bowl, cover and chill in the refrigerator for an hour or so. Then put in your ice cream maker and follow the instructions according to your machine. If you don’t have a machine (like me!), combine all ingredients together in a shallow pan small enough to fit in your freezer and cover it directly with plastic wrap. Place in the freezer for several hours, stirring about every half hour or so to break up the ice crystals, then return it to the freezer. If you wanted to be fancy you could use a food processor or blender to achieve this, but a fork or whisk works just fine. The more you break up the crystals the smoother your sorbet will be. After several hours of breaking up and refreezing, move the sorbet to a freezer safe container. Let it thaw a bit before scooping and serving.

One thought on “I Guess You Can Say it’s Lemon Sorbet

  1. You just made my morning. I used to make parve ice cream practically every Shabbat, but a recent decision to get most of the processed junk out of the house put an end to that item on the menu since we stopped buying Rich Whip. I made a yummy vanilla sorbet this past week, but with my neighbor’s tree just brimming with lemons, and with a love of lemons to possibly rival your own, this is going on the list for this coming Shabbat. I think it will go nicely next to some hot cherry pie. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

