Cooking · Muffins and Quick Bread · Vegan

Avocado Bread


When the Jews were in Egypt, they decided to send 12 spies into the land of Israel to see if it was hospitable. Upon returning, the spies told tales of a giant’s world- filled with massive people and huge grapes. While they were disconcerted, I’m delighted with what I’ve found. If you wander through the market in Israel this week you should stumble upon some fairly large produce. In our local grocery store I found lemons the size of miniature footballs and avocados bigger than my baby’s head. I couldn’t go home without them.

I often suffer from watching avocados languish on my counter top- turning soft to brown and then eventually seeing the bottom of my garbage can. I was determined not to let these beauties from Eretz Yisrael go to waste. Did you know that an avocado is actually of the fruit variety? Their smooth flesh works in sweet as well as savory dishes, although sometimes it’s difficult to overlook the, well, greenness.

I adapted my favorite vegan Banana Bread recipe to make a sweet green quick bread to do my huge avocados right. The addition of lemon zest and fresh lemon juice adds a perfect freshness, and a little spice makes this a warm breakfast treat.

*Note: After starting my Baby on food, I discovered the great combination of avocado and banana. You can replace some of the avocado with ripe mashed banana for a sweeter and lighter bread.

Vegan Avocado Bread

Ingredients

1/2 cup margarine or vegetable oil
1 cup sugar (half brown, half white)
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
1 large, ripe avocado or 2-3 small (Alternatively, substitute some of the avocado for ripe, mashed banana)
1 tsp fresh lemon juice
1 tsp lemon zest
1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (176 C). Lightly grease an 8×4 in loaf pan. Mash avocado well, or puree in a food processor. In a mixing bowl, combine margarine or oil, and sugar. Add lemon juice and lemon zest, stirring lightly to combine. Sift in the flour, baking soda, salt and pumpkin pie spice, stir just to combine. Add mashed avocado and stir to combine. Pour batter into prepared pan and bake in the preheated oven for 50-60 minutes, checking half-way. The bread is done when a skewer or toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Store at room temperature wrapped well, or freeze double wrapped.

5 thoughts on “Avocado Bread

  1. Avocados never last long enough in our house, my husband has a built-in radar, the minute that baby is ready, it’s already in his salad. I’m going to suggest this to him, but I can’t see it happening, unless I hide the avocados first…..

  2. What an inventive recipe. You’re preaching to the choir where avocados are concerned, but the chia seeds are only something I’ve heard about. Can’t wait to try this.

Leave a Reply

