Cooking · Desserts

Chocolate Pecan Pie


I bet you guys are sick of me already. But I have no intention of stopping- I will march on, sharing Thanksgiving recipe after Thanksgiving recipe, until Channukah. Or Passover. Because who doesn’t love Thanksgiving? Well, probably some people, and I could make a statement on the rights of Native Americans but I will try and restrain myself.

I’m probably not as stressed as half of you, seeing that my guests are only coming on Friday. I might have a turkey sandwich for dinner tonight, but that will be the extent of my feasting until tomorrow evening. But I have a mighty long list to get through before then- I might have to put the baby to work chopping vegetables.

Somewhere along the line I started pretending that I pronounce the word peCAHNs, like I’m some sort of fancy shmancy debutante. Kind of like saying VAHse for that pretty jar you put fresh cut flowers in. People, I’m from Northeast Ohio. And it’s PEEcans or nothing at all. However you pronounce it, this pie is a treat and it could not be easier to make. I also have a confession to make. This is so easy..because…I use a pre-made pie crust. I have never successfully made pie crust, even though everyone touts how easy it is. One day. But not when I have 8 guests coming over. I still ended up burning the crust a bit. I’ll admit it ain’t the purtiest pie I’ve made. I’m a hopeless case. Ever wondered why your pie split during baking? Sometimes it happens from lowering the temperature midway, or from over baking. Keep a good watch and you’ll do just fine.

I make my version a bit different than the norm by using imitation maple syrup instead of plain corn syrup and using chopped pecans instead of whole. I know that some pie purists may have something to say about this, but I find it difficult to cut through whole pecans when serving the pie, and this assures a crunchy, even top layer. Oh, and PLEASE put out a gravy boat full of Pioneer Woman’s Whiskey Maple Cream sauce for your guests to pour over top.

Chocolate Pecan Pie
Adapted from Emeril Lagasse

Ingredients

1 cup pecans, roughly chopped (Measure before chopping)
1/2 cup semisweet chocolate chips
1 unbaked deep dish 9-inch pie shell
4 eggs, beaten
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup dark brown sugar, packed
1/2 cup imitation maple syrup (You can use any kind from your grocery store, just make sure it’s not the real thing!)
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
Pinch salt

Directions

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F. Line a baking sheet with foil. Check to make sure that your pie crust is deep-dish- this is essential. Place the crust on the lined baking sheet. Spread the chopped pecans and chocolate chips on the bottom of the unbaked pie shell. In a bowl, whisk the rest of the ingredients together. Pour the wet ingredients over the pecans and chocolate chips evenly. Bake until the filling sets and is no longer jiggly, 50-60 minutes. Check at around 35 minutes- if your crust is getting too brown (like mine did. woops.) lay a piece of tin foil over the top. Remove from the oven and allow it to cool for a good half hour before serving. Alternatively, you can cover with foil and put it in the refrigerator for several hours or even a day or two before serving. You can warm in a 350 degree F oven for a few minutes before serving if you so desire.

Happy Thanksgiving!

3 thoughts on “Chocolate Pecan Pie

    1. Good question Phyllis! The traditional base to Pecan Pie is Corn Syrup. Imitation maple syrup is basically maple flavored corn syrup. I have never attempted making a pecan pie with pure maple syrup, but something tells me it would be too runny. Happy Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

