Freezer Friendly · Snacks

Fresh Applesauce


It has been so hot here that the cows have stopped producing milk. They have had to cut short production of butter and cheese in order to save the milk so that there isn’t a National shortage. This doesn’t really affect me at all, seeing that I’ve had to stop eating any dairy since the baby becomes a shrieking banshee if I have even a drop in my coffee. I have become one with Almond milk, Soy Mochachinos, and margarine. It is not, however, great news for the Bagel store. Gil has had to run all over town recently to scrounge up cream cheese and butter before the natives start a mob. Oh and speaking of Mob- I mentioned last week that Israeli mobsters had been frequenting my building. There have been new developments….But if I told you, I’d have to kill you…

Just kidding. I just don’t want my Dad reading this and flying to Israel. He’s got a business to run after all.

I always get homesick for America around the Holidays, often ending up in tears on Thanksgiving. Not this year! I am having my very own Thanksgiving feast (On Friday, not Thursday, so I guess it kind of defeats the purpose, but whatever) with some Anglo friends. I’m hoping to document my quest for the perfect Thanksgiving fare and maybe even share a recipe or two.

For now, I’ll share what I have been eating for a snack for the past few weeks. I always have a stash of Applesauce in my fridge, and like a jar of peanut butter, I stick a spoon in and eat to my hearts desire. It helps that I’m the only one in the house who eats it, so I can do that. If you have multiple Applesauce eaters in your household, I would advise against the Spoon-in-Jar, because people tend to get crazy over this Sauce. All sauced up, if you will.

I went once again to the faithful Deb who started posting recipes for baby food when her little scrumptious monkey Jacob started eating food. So far I’ve only tried the Applesauce, but it is GOOD. I hope to expand and build my baby food collection once AJ starts eating bits and pieces in a few months. Basically I had a bunch of apples sitting in the bottom of my fridge and I didn’t want them to go to waste. Israeli apples are small but perfect sized for a snack, a bit sweet, a bit tart, and make for a flavorful sauce.

Fresh Applesauce

Only a little bit adapted from Smitten Kitchen

2-4 pounds apples, cored and cut into 8 pieces. You can also peel them if you like, but I leave the peel on for extra fiber.
4 strips of orange peel (Don’t leave it out, it makes a big difference)
1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 cup water

Core your apples, and cut into 8 pieces each. Add the apples, orange peel, ground cinnamon and water to a large pot. On high heat, bring to a boil, then lower heat and simmer for 35-60 minutes. The apples should be soft enough to squish. Retrieve the orange peels and let the apples cool on the stove top. Once cool, blend in batches in a blender or food processor until smooth. Store in airtight containers in the fridge or freezer. Per Deb’s suggestion, I also filled up an ice cube tray, froze it, and then put the cute little applesauce-cubes in a freezer bag for future baby food use. It helped that they were heart shaped cubes.

4 thoughts on “Fresh Applesauce

  1. Sounds really great. I think I am going to try this soon. Where do you find air-tight jars around here though? How long is it good for?

  2. I feel your pain, I also had a shrieking banshee, but this was with my oldest, and if I had any Coca-Cola (to which I’m addicted) the kid would have the worst gas pains. The things we do for our children!

    Love the idea of the orange peel in the applesauce, I can’t wait to try the recipe, thanks!

Leave a Reply

