Cooking · Desserts

I have reached my life’s goal (Not really, but here are these Chocolate Chip Cookies)

Have you ever really wanted something? Maybe it was to graduate with a 4.0 from school, or become a ballerina. For others it might be to make partner or grow a beautiful garden. What do I dream about? What have I always wanted?

Well, to be a Prima ballerina, get a 4.0 and a masters degree, make partner and eat food from my own beautiful garden. Who doesn’t? But honestly? I have always wanted to make the perfect Chocolate Chip cookie.

Judge me if you must. For a person who loves to bake and cannot make a proper cookie, the embarrassment was almost too much for me to bear. They were flat. They were tasteless. They had too much salt, too little, were burnt, undercooked, and everything in between. Where were the weird cookie elves when you needed them? All that has changed today my friends. I went back to basics. No crazy ingredients, weird preparation, or time spent agonizing and pining in front of the oven. I mixed these up, baked them, and then promptly ate 4. I won’t deny that I have every plan to eat the rest of the batch before the day is out. I’ll save some for Gil, I guess, because he works so hard and needs a little fattening up.

Please make these for your friend who has a birthday coming up. Or for the guy who made partner, when you didn’t. Hell, make them for the Prima ballerina so she will get fat and you can take her place as Clara in the Nutcracker. Sorry, that was a little unidentified tension from my past cropping up. Won’t happen again.

The original recipe calls for shortening and walnuts. I omitted both, replaced the shortening with margarine and quadrupled the vanilla. From the reviews I read you can go the shortening route, or even replace with butter if you’re a fiend like that. These are hard to mess up. They are crunchy, while still managing a bit of chewy. Perfect.

The Perfect Chocolate Chip Cookie adapted from Allrecipes.com
Makes about 1 dozen good sized cookies, or close to 2 dozen smaller cookies

Ingredients

1/2 cup (about 100 grams) margarine, softened
1/4 cup white sugar
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
1 egg
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 1/8 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup semisweet chocolate chips

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).
In a small bowl, cream the margarine, brown sugar and white sugar. Mix in the egg and vanilla. Sift together the flour, baking soda and salt; stir into the batter until all the flour is incorporated. Lightly mix in the chocolate chips. Use your 1/8 cup measure or a tablespoon and drop spoonfuls onto ungreased cookie sheets, leaving room between each cookie as they will spread.
Bake for 8 minutes in the preheated oven, until the edges are light brown. Let them sit on the warm pan for a minute or so before removing them to cool completely on a wire rack. Store in an airtight container for as long as you can physically restrain yourself from eating them. I’ll give you a day.

2 thoughts on “I have reached my life’s goal (Not really, but here are these Chocolate Chip Cookies)

Leave a Reply

