My lucky stars + almond butter cookies

January 23, 2013 § 1 Comment

I’ve been experiencing an interesting phenomenon in the last week or so and I really can’t make heads or tails of it. I’ll be with my kids at home doing our thing, eating, making messes, general pandemonium. And then something will come crashing down. Literally. Last week I had just finished bath time and as I carry one toweled, dripping baby and chase a naked toddler I hear a huge crash of broken glass. Behind me the heavy glass light fixture in the bathroom had fallen onto the floor and shattered where we had been crouched together only a moment before. A few days later my baby was wandering around my bedroom and playing in my closet. The second she left the room a massive wooden shelf fell down right where she was playing. And today as I was making these cookies, she crawls into the kitchen saying “hot!”. She had CLIMBED onto the middle of the coffee table and pulled my fresh cup of coffee onto herself. She wasn’t crying, her fleece clothes protected every inch of her skin.

So what should I take away from these near disasters? My home is a death trap? I need to be even more careful? Well, there’s that. But I think more so that these were near disasters. As much as I can complain about the cold Jerusalem streets and navigating the social stratosphere, I have it so good. That’s it. Thankful. Alive and kicking, screaming and crying and laughing and eating and thankful.

Interesting transition into cookies, but I am certainly thankful for these, too. If you have ever made a traditional peanut butter cookie you’ll know they are naturally gluten free. Grain free, actually. After a delightful trip to machne yehuda shuk last night I am stocked up with fresh nuts. I wanted to switch up the flavor profile so I made a nut butter with pecans and almonds. Everything changed. It’s a different cookie entirely. Thin, crispy, ever so buttery never mind they have none. It’s the pecans, my friend.

Almond-Pecan Butter Cookies
gluten free, grain free, dairy free

1/4 cup raw pecans
3/4 cup raw almonds
1-2 tbsp canola oil
(alternately you could use 1 cup prepared almond butter)
1 cup natural cane sugar
1 egg
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp sea salt
1/4 tsp cinnamon

Grind pecans and almonds in a food processor, adding canola oil until it reaches the consistency of thick peanut butter. You may need to scrape down the sides frequently. Preheat your oven to 350 f (176 c). Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper. In a large bowl, add 1 cup almond butter, egg, sugar, baking soda, salt and cinnamon. Mix until combined. Using a teaspoon measure, plop dough in small rounds onto the parchment lined sheet. These will spread significantly so a teaspoon is more than enough; take care to leave enough room between each cookie. Bake 10-15 minutes until lightly browned. Allow to cool on the pan for a full 5 minutes before moving to a cooling rack to cool completely. The cookies will get more crunchy as they cool. Keep in an airtight container for a week, or freeze. They get better as the days go on.

20130123-155610.jpg

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ One Response to My lucky stars + almond butter cookies

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading My lucky stars + almond butter cookies at Midwest Mama (in Israel).

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 712 other followers

